Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Municipal Waste
Hazardous Mutation
11/29/2006 - Review by: Weasel
Municipal Waste - Hazardous Mutation - 2005 - Earache

Track Listing
1. Intro
2. Deathripper
3. Unleash the Bastards
4. The Thing
5. Blood Drive
6. Accelerated Vision
7. Guilty of Being Tight
8. Set to Destruct
9. Hazardous Mutation
10. Nailed Casket
11. Abusement Park
12. Black Ice
13. Mind Eraser
14. Terror Shark
15. The Thrashin' of the Christ
16. Bangover
The kids in Richmond have problems. The Slave Pit, where GWAR calls home is not the only thing to fester in the wastes of one of the oldest cities in America. The boys behind Municipal Waste seem to be finding their way out of the gutter into our homes. A throw back to what they call “80’s Crossover”, mixing all the rage and anarchy of the punk music heyday with heavier riffs and cleaner sounds. Compared to iconic bands like DRI and Suicidal Tendencies, their debut full-length album, “Hazardous Mutation”, most assuredly holds those same values, or lack there of, true. In every essence a true thrash album. Chaotic and spiteful with buckets of lyrical gore applied liberally to about every aspect of this album. Bitter and cynical lyrics abound, as they call to “…crush the church and take back our lives.” on the track “Thrashin’ of the Christ”, also showing blatant disregard for public safety on songs like Blood Drive, a maniacal romp through a high speed pursuit. Such a sick outlook for a group of guys freshly into there 20’s, which begs the question, what’s happening in Richmond? Their youth may be their greatest advantage, giving them plenty of years to mature their angst-ridden sound, which I will admit, will need to keep evolving as they progress as a band, or they run a very real risk of getting themselves into a thrash rut. Which could prove to be what will stop what seems like an unstoppable up-and-coming band.

Overall “Hazardous Mutation” is a solid album musically. While being a hefty 16 tracks, each one averages about 2 minutes so it runs through your CD player fairly quickly but leaves you still pounding your fist. For those of you still clinging to the punk scene from 20 years ago, scoffing at “punk” bands like Sum 41 and Good Charlotte, this may be what you’re waiting for. While calling it a breath of fresh air may be insulting, it’s more like a hot ragged belch spraying spit into a mass marketed punk genre. Recent exploits have taken them coast-to-coast with fellow Virginians and splatter punk masters of the Earth, GWAR. Record label, Earache, has promised more to come from the self-destructive quartet. Let’s hope they hold true on that. It may be enough to constitute a trip out to Richmond to see what else is crawling in the sewers and landfills.

--Weasel 11.20.06

10/13/2005 - Review by: Eric Compton
Municipal Waste - Hazardous Mutation - 2005 - Earache Records

Track Listing
1. Intro / Death Ripper
2. Unleash The Bastards
3. The Thing
4. Blood Drive
5. Accelerated Vision
6. Guilty Of Being Tight
7. Thrashin’ Of The Christ
8. Hazardous Mutation
9. Nailed Casket
10. Abusement Park
11. Black Ice
12. Mind Eraser
13. Terror Shark
14. Set To Destruct
15. Bang Over
It has been a long time since I've heard a new band go down this route. Think of a retro sound dedicated to the likes of "Among The Living" and "Spreading The Disease" Anthrax crossed with the best punk philosophy of DRI. That is really what this debut is made from, cut from that warped, fast-as-lightning speed metal attack that borders on the insane fury found with German thrashers. "Hazardous Mutation" is a captivating, perfectly timed return to the old school classic metal glory.

Hailing from Richmond, Virginia, Municipal Waste are right on target, expanding on punk/hardcore rhythms and crossing into the rip-tide of metal thrashing mad. The group conjures up those ultra fast punk riffs, put on the quick track along with singer Tony Foresta's energetic and aggressive "spoken word" slur. He mixes it up nicely, really taking the music into the way of new school thoughts ala Shadow's Fall. But where modern bands like that fall flat, Municipal Waste turns up the heat, tuning down and playing through quick romps. With sixteen cuts involved here the average song is about two minutes, a long standing tradition of hardcore and punk theory.

Overall the majority of the material flows consistently with solid riffs that move at a fast gallop, or simply combine on wicked grooves that ride the metro through cuts that are beaming with perverse and sadistic humor. With songs like "Bang Over", "Guilty Of Being Tight", and "The Thrashin' Of The Christ" one can't help but giggle and cackle. But while the band are busy running songwriting through the Gwar processor, other cuts bring back the fire of early acts like Anvil. "Mind Eraser", "Death Ripper", and "Terror Shark" are all out war, fast and furious leather beatings that deliver the goods in "whiplash" style.

Overall this whole record is just absolutely a rampage, an up-tempo riff stomper that will please ALL fans of Anthrax, DRI, Anvil, and those in between bands that nobody ever gives props too. Congrats on Earache for taking a chance on this young group. If any of their future albums continue with this much tradition and professionalism, Municipal Waste could find themselves headbanging on the stoop of superstardom.

--EC 10.05.05

Hazardous Mutation
Hazardous Mutation
Eric Compton10/13/2005
Slime and Punishment
Nuclear Blast
Eric Compton8/11/2017


<< back >>