Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Power Quest
Magic Never Dies
Majestic Rock
9/15/2005 - Review by: Anthony Burke
Power Quest - Magic Never Dies - 2005 - Majestic Rock Records

Track Listing
1. Ascension
2. Find my Heaven
3. Galaxies Unknown
4. Hold on to Love
5. Diamond Sky
6. The Message
7. Soulfire
8. Children of the Dream
9. Strike Force
10. Another World
11. Magic Never Dies
12. The Longest Night (Japan)
After the disaster of a record by Alice Cooper, one can easily hope for heavy metal bliss with this one. After never hearing Power Quest, you can imagine my skepticism, but my fears were quickly laid to rest.

Power Quest, the power metal group based out of England, are Steve Williams (Keyboards), Steve Scott (Bass), Alessio Garavello (Vocals), Andrea Martongelli (Guitars), and Francesco Tresca (Drums). Born in 2001 by Steve Williams (DragonHeart), and immediately recruiting Steve Scott (also of DragonHeart descent, as well as Shadowkeep), the group has seen its fair share of line up changes. Yet with every new addition, the band seemed to increase in strength and pleasantry of sound.

With the introductory track “Ascension” possessing so much orchestral power, it became crystal clear they would hit the ground running. This explosion continues with “Find My Heaven” and “Galaxies Unknown”, which crosses three sounds. The sweet melodies of bands like Rhapsody and Freedom Call, the heaviness of bands like Accept, and the unmistakable harmonies ala Axenstar and HammerFall. Laced with a Europe type sound, the ballad “Hold on to Love” is a tragic story of death, yet this is one ballad that is anything but tragic. “Diamond Sky” harshly kicked the dog, but the pace is quickly brought to a halt with “The Message”, yet another ballad with a 80s feel. It contains a well written meaning, but I don’t know about love songs in metal, as that ship has sailed. “Children of the Dream” is an awesome display of talent, which remembers their beginnings; however “Another World” has to be the strongest track here. Full of power and melody (but the melodic structure fits perfectly, and is not to overpowering), and showcasing each and every instrument in the band is the track “Magic Never Dies”. This is the sound that sums up this explosion from Europe. For the US market, it closes with the perfect blend of speed and a slower tempo. The Japan version is incredible as well.

This being their third album, I truly can not believe that I ever let this band escape my metal radar. For the fans of melodic metal, which is loaded with a pure power and a blissful sound, this can not be taken lightly. Back catalog consists of "Neverworld" (2003) and "Wings Of Forever" (2002). Should you fall in love with this record, as I did, the back catalog is a must, as there is not a terrible song in the entire bunch. A band that has seen each release stronger than the last, I am highly anticipating the next great release.

---Iced Mojo 09.08.05


Magic Never Dies
Majestic Rock
Anthony Burke9/15/2005


<< back >>