Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Impaled Nazarene
Death Comes in 26 Carefully Selected Pieces
Osmose Productions
9/15/2005 - Review by: Veritas
Impaled Nazarene - Death Comes in 26 Carefully Selected Pieces - 2005 - Osmose Productions

Track Listing
1. Intro
2. The Horny and the Horned
3. Armageddon Death Squad
4. Goat Perversion
5. 1999: Karmageddon Warriors
6. Motopenis
7. Kohta El Naura Enaa Jeesuskaan
8. The Endless War
9. Sadhu Satana
10. Ghettoblaster
11. Coraxo
12. Soul Rape
13. Sadastic 666/Under a Golden Shower
14. Zero Tolerance
15. The Maggot Crusher
16. Let's Fucking Die
17. Tribulation Hell
18. We're Satan's Generation
19. Cogito Ergo Sum
20. Goat Seeds of Doom
21. Condemned to Hell
22. Intro S.F.P.
23. Sadogoat
24. Vitutuksen Multihuipennus
25. The Lost Art of Goat Sacrificing
26. Total War - Winter War

Death Comes in 26 Carefully Selected Pieces is the latest release from Finnish black metallers Impaled Nazarene. Itís a live album, recorded in late 2004 at a concert in Finland. Usually live albums are a lot of fun but for an artistsí real quality work you have to buy the actual studio albums. This is far from the case with Impaled Nazarene. Live, they are twice as intense, twice as heavy, and twice as good as they are on their studio albums, which Iím not a huge fan of. This disc, on the other hand, is deserving of lots of listening time.

Lots of notable Finnish musicians have spent some time in Impaled Nazarene, like Alexi Laiho of Children of Bodom and Teemu Raimoranta (RIP) of Finntroll. Right now thereís no one that has gained fame in any other way other than this band working with them, but that doesnít mean thereís no talent. Vocalist Mika Luttinen has one of the most intense voices in black metal, and drummer Reima Kellokoski is pretty damn fast. The guitars and bass arenít too shabby either Ė so Iím not surprised that these five put on a magnificent live performance.

A 26 track release is unheard of in black metal, even for a live album. The ability to do such a thing makes Impaled Nazarene quite unique indeed. If you donít count the handful of tracks that are just intros or speaking, there are still 23 or 24 real songs on this album. This wouldnít work if they were all four or five minutes, obviously. Lucky for us, Impaled Nazarene often take a death-grind approach to their songwriting and procure extremely fast, extremely heavy, two minute long songs. Somehow, the riffing, drumming, and vocals still manage to stay within the realm of black metal, even in such short songs. This makes for a very interesting listening experience indeed.

Any Impaled Nazarene fan would be doing him or herself a disservice by not picking this up Ė as Iíve said before, itís better than the studio releases. Anyone who has heard them and not enjoyed them, Iíd still recommend giving this album a shot. I wasnít crazy about them until I heard this, which has quickly become my favorite live black metal album out of all the ones I own. Nothing can top pure aggression, which is exactly what you get from these guys.


--Veritas 08.22.05


Death Comes in 26 Carefully Selected Pieces
Osmose Productions
Osmose Productions
Al Kikuras9/19/2008
Pro Patria Finlandia
Osmose Productions
Death Metal Shawn12/22/2006


<< back >>