Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Silent Force
Worlds Apart
Noise Records
12/6/2004 - Review by: Vinaya Saksena
Silent Force - Worlds Apart - 2004 Noise/ Sanctuary reviewed by: Vinaya

Track Listing
1. Ride The Storm
2. No One Lives Forever
3. Hold On
4. Once Again
5. Master Of My Destiny
6. Heroes
7. Death Comes In Disguise
8. Merry Minstrel
9. Spread Your Wings
10. Iron Hand
11. Heart Attack
12. Worlds Apart
Those who know me well know that I have been quite a fan of German metal merchants Sinner since being dazzled by their 2000 release The End Of Sanctuary. Among the Black Forest alchemists responsible for that minor metal marvel was Alex Beyrodt. Often considered the epic/ progressive half of Sinner’s dual-guitar engine, Beyrodt gave additional credence to that description when he teamed up with American vocalist D.C. Cooper (ex-Royal Hunt) to form Silent Force. The band’s debut album The Empire Of Future showed the guitarist beginning to unleash more of the epic metal he had only produced in limited doses as a member of Sinner, yet despite being a more than capable effort, the album struck me as somewhat cold and unwelcoming. The band’s sophomore effort Infatuator was a modest improvement in my judgment, featuring better integration of keyboards, while also seemingly bearing a slight influence from Beyrodt’s brief stint with Primal Fear. Though Infatuator did not quite have me… um… infatuated, I saw big potential in the group at this point.

Proving my suspicion that much better things lay ahead for the band (at least creatively), Worlds Apart is a huge leap forward in just about every department. Alexander Beyrodt (no longer just Alex!), tellingly, is credited with “Guitars, Koto, Sitar” in the liner notes, and sure enough, such exotic instrumentation provides the album’s introduction, leading of into the exhilarating mission statement “Ride The Storm.” Like several of these new songs, this number is a bold mix of old and new, expanding, rather than completely altering, the band’s trademark sound. Even better is advance single “No One Lives Forever,” a highly palatable and tasteful, yet riveting metal anthem that boasts some of Beyrodt’s most inspired playing to date, and an almost pop-like sense of musicality.

This newfound musical universality coincides with a more complete and human vocal/ lyrical persona for D.C. Cooper. Now a father, the singer has seen fit to include a sonic snippet of his son, Clayton Christopher Cooper, as an introduction to “Spread Your Wings,” a majestic and surprisingly touching ballad from father to son. Also listen for Beyrodt’s nifty Classical quotations (“Death Comes In Disguise,” for example, paraphrases Beethoven’s “Ode To Joy”). The rest of the band, though not often featured, make strong contributions as well, especially drummer Andre Hilgers, who seems more ambitious than ever on Worlds Apart. And while he doesn’t engage in as many competitive soloing duels with Beyrodt, as he did on Infatuator, keyboardist Torsten Rohre really does sound like he belongs in the sonic picture now, if there was any doubt before. As for bassist Jurgen Steinmetz, he doesn’t leap out with dazzling solos either, but his contribution is appreciated nonetheless (Hey, I didn’t wanna leave anyone out, you know?).

Kudos all around to Silent Force. It’s been three long years since Infatuator hit the shelves, but let me tell you, Worlds Apart has proven worth the wait. The creative growth displayed here is quite impressive, leaving me one satisfied listener, while at the same time joyously contemplating what may come next. Forget those Dungeons and Dragons stereotypes (Despite the cover art! Doh!). Worlds Apart is a testament to the creativity and artistry that can, but too often does not, find its way into power metal. So far, only Jorn’s awesome Out To Every Nation has surpassed this album in making the case for heavy metal as true, world-relevant, universal art in 2004.

Rating: 8.9

--Vinaya 12.07.04

Worlds Apart
Noise Records
Vinaya Saksena12/6/2004


<< back >>