Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
This Godless Endeavor
Century Media
7/27/2005 - Review by: Troy Cole

Track Listing

1. Born [The Retribution Of Spiritual Sickness]
2. Final Product
3. My Acid Words
4. Bittersweet Feast
5. Sentient 6
6. Medicated Nation
7. The Holocaust Of Thought
8. Sell My Heart For Stones
9. The Psalm Of Lydia
10. A Future Uncertain
11. This Godless Endeavor
Since the demise of SANCTUARY the beast called NEVERMORE has risen from those ashes to release 8 previous albums (if you include the remix of 'Enemies Of Reality') and now 'This Godless Endeavor'--one uncompromising sonic assault from beginning to end and in my opinion the bands crowning achievement. As with most NEVERMORE albums, you will not comprehend the true greatness of this album with one listen. The more you delve into this disc the more you will absorb; patience is the key. The song structures, layers, tempo changes and the subtle things like backing vocals and fills will marvel you.

'This Godless Endeavor' encompasses everything that has made NEVERMORE what they are. The trademark melancholic atmospheres and dark melodies are saturated throughout. Every song contains the massive and memorable riffs that Jeff Loomis has always been more than capable of but now with the help of shredder Steve Smyth. Warrel Dane displays his abrasive and awe-inspiring vocals at their absolute best on every track. Not forgetting that the dynamic and pummeling duo of Van Williams and Jim Sheppard holds everything together nice and tight. Production duties were handed back to Andy Sneap making everything clean, clear, and crisp as NEVERMORE fans have grow to expect from their technical heroes of metal.

Songs such as 'Born', 'Final Product', and 'My Acid Words' reflect the technical side fans would remember from 'Politics Of Ecstasy'. The driving and ballad-esque tracks of 'Sentient 6' and 'Sell My Heart For Stones' bring forth the dark and dreary of 'Dreaming Neon Black' and the 'In Memory' EP. 'Medicated Nation' berates you while Warrel spews forth his lyrics in a serpentine manner. 'The Psalm Of Lydia' features some of the most mind blowing riffing I've heard to date. Closing out the album is the 9 minute masterpiece 'This Godless Endeavor'. To me this is the centerpiece of the album , but this holds true with all the title tracks from previous albums. This track exudes every element from everything the band has ever done. Epic would be a gross understatement.

Most bands have that career defining album everyone remembers, NEVERMORE now has 9. Album after album NEVERMORE still astonishes and exceeds expectations. Definitely a contender for album of the year.

7/26/2005 - Review by: Axeman

Track Listing
01. Born
02. Final Product
03. My Acid Words
04. Bittersweet Feast
05. Sentient 6
06. Medicated Nation
07. The Holocaust of Thought
08. Sell My Heart for Stones
09. The Psalm of Lydia
10. A Future Uncertain
11. This Godless Endeavor
Hearing a new Nevermore album is a always a special occasion. Yes, I listen to hundreds of bands each year and have many, many favorites...but Nevermore certainly are one of those bands that stand head and shoulders above the rest of the pack for me. Each release this band has put out has brought me countless hours of listening pleasure so imagine my jaw dropping to the floor when this majestic masterpiece unveiled itself to me over the course of an hour. I began to dare this band to have just a few moments of normalcy throughout this grand fucking opus of a disc. It never happened.

Easily switching gears from speedy, almost death metal blasting to beautiful, sweeping choruses, my initial reaction was pure awe. This feeling would be a recurring one. Choosing producer Andy Sneap once again was a no-brainer. The guy resuscitated the victim called Enemies Of Reality back to life after putting his stamp on the now legendary Dead Heart In A Dead World album. Yes, this is exactly how Nevermore's music should be heard. Clear, heavy and percise.

Weaving in and out of the complex maze of mayhem Guitarists Jeff Loomis and new member Steve Smyth have created is nothing short of an incredible journey this band seemlessly carries you on. I'm glad I don't play guitar. I'd have to put it back in the case and bury it in a hole somewhere after the sheer guitar wizardry displayed all over this masterpiece. Bringing in Smyth as a permanent member was a smart move as his playing style seems tailor-made for the unique Nevermore much so that I can't tell who's playing what solo throughout the entire disc.

The voice of Warrel Dane sounds revitalized after his much publicized health problems. The topics Dane touches on are always thought provoking and intellectual. A truly passionate performance that goes in the books as his most energetic and emotional singing since "In Memory". (Yes, some of the best material this band has ever done is contained on that seemingly forgotten ep!)

Without the incredible drumming of Van Williams and Jim Sheppard's intricate bass work this whole thing would fall apart. Proving the statement that a band is only as good as it's weakest link. these guys are obviously a special unit together, admitting that the material on this new album was written more as a group effort than in the past. It really helped round the album out as they left virtually no stone unturned. From all out shredding to heavy, introspective doom-laden power get to hear why Nevermore is the best in the business. There's debate out there already if this is Nevermore's best album yet and I simply can't see what these people are arguing about. THIS GODLESS ENDEAVOR is easily Nevermore's crowing moment. Artistic fucking brilliance.

Axeman 07-17-05

Enemies Of Reality (remix)
Century Media
The Obsidian Conspiracy
Century Media
Hail and Kill5/3/2010
This Godless Endeavor
Century Media
Troy Cole7/27/2005
This Godless Endeavor
Century Media


<< back >>