Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Steel Preacher
Start Raising Hell
11/29/2004 - Review by: Eric Compton
Steel Preacher - Start Raising Hell 2004 Indy Released Reviewed by: EC

Track Listing
1. Eye Of The Storm
2. I'm Fucking Metal
3. Start Raising Hell
4. Preachers
5. Wrath Of The Gods
6. Between The Hammer & The Anvil
7. Disciples Of War
8. Boozehounds From Hell
9. Metal Hangover
The inside tray liner states "Maybe We're Not Good...But We're Metal.

Ha! I'm loving it, Steel Preacher are quickly becoming one of my favorite new German underdogs. I was highly impressed with last year's offering, "Route 666", and clearly stated in my review that better things would come from the band. Now they have with the band's newest release "Start Raising Hell". The band is still without a label, and are working from a limited budget, but I'll be damned if this disc doesn't sound just as good as the stuff Remedy and Limb is putting out. I'm not sure how the band came up with the money for this artwork, but this time around the band have a colorful jacket featuring the three piece done up in a comical illustration. You just have to laugh when you see the cover, but it really does add to the atmosphere of this album.

Steel Preacher definitely aren't taking themselves too seriously, and that is one of the many things I like about them. They have fun with the songs, and have a blue collar, hard working metal man attitude, not too far off base from bands like Tankard, Motorhead, and Anvil. This time around though I do see the band improving themselves in a year's time. These songs have killer hooks, very simplistic in style, but that is the intention. At times it feels like they just went into the studio completely jacked on German ale and recorded fast cuts just to hear themselves play. Does it work? If you are a simple metal head like myself, who gets a kick out of old Anvil and Piledriver, then this Bud is sincerely yours.

"Start Raising Hell" is obviously a better product than "Route 666", from the amazing artwork to the production, this album is a step up the proverbial ladder. The band is still playing metal thrashing mad, slinging brews during a cannonfire of quick chops and fast skins. They seem to be branching out a bit on this record, which is a big improvement in my opinion. Opener "Eye Of The Storm" recalls the best moments of Dungeon, Paragon, or even a less stable Rage. "I'm Fucking Metal" and "Start Raising Hell" are the grinding wheels that hone in on the sounds of Anvil and Tankard. "Wrath Of The Gods" and "Disciples Of War" is where things get a little more diverse, with this cut sounding like something from Dio or Tony Martin era Sabbath. "Boozehounds From Hell" and "Metal Hangover" bow to the drunken feet of Motorhead.

A huge improvement from the last record, Steel Preacher have created a fine blend of old, drunken metal that really seems to capture that raw "no cares" attitude so prevalent in bands from the 70s and 80s. I wish more bands could just kick back and play fun metal, nothing serious or over exaggerated, just simply play metal because they want to, not because the labels or trends tell them to. This three piece are the very heart and soul of what makes this music so entertaining for so many. "Start Raising Hell"....for sure!

--EC 11.29.04

Route 666
Eric Compton11/10/2003
Start Raising Hell
Eric Compton11/29/2004


<< back >>