Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Anywhere But Home
Wind-Up Records
12/13/2004 - Review by: Ken Pierce
Evanescence “Anywhere But Home” Wind-Up Records 2004 reviewed by: Ken Pierce

Track Listing
1. Haunted
2. Going Under
3. Taking Over Me
4. Everybody’s Fool
5. Thoughtless
6. My Last Breath
7. Farther Away
8. Missing
9. Breathe No More
10. My Immortal
11. Bring Me To Life
12. Tourniquet
13. Imaginary
14. Whisper
Break out band Evanscence have released their first live DVD entitled “Anywhere But Home”. This piece follows up their award-winning release “Fallen”. The lineup consists of Amy Lee (vocals) along with Rocky Gray (drums), John LeCompt & Terry Balsamo (guitars) and William Boyd (bass). From the initial recordings of Evanescence, Amy Lee is the only remaining member and principal songwriter. Guitarist/co-Founder Ben Moody left mid tour last year. The DVD comes with a companion CD of the same concert, given you a double shot for the dollar.

Given the high costs of CD’s these days, I feel it was a smart thing to include both the video of the concert and the audio in the same package. Releasing them on separate packages can risk the fan purchasing both. It also eliminates gimmicks by giving you a little more. Not two releases each with one different track on it like a popular “new punk” band just did. As a matter of fact this live concert features every track from the CD “Fallen” with the exception of “Hello”. There is a new track entitled “Missing” which is quite good.

Shot on tour in Paris, the footage is done very well and at times is very dramatic. The levels of the sound across all members of the band and the vocals are clean and nothing overpowers one another. I have heard this as a live criticism of the band from some folks who had attended shows in the recent past. None of that is an issue on the DVD. I did notice that the band is only shown in very brief shots as opposed to Miss Lee. Clearly she is running the show at this point, and they are just the band behind her. It is difficult to assume otherwise based on the shooting done. There are a lot of close-ups to Amy and she is dressed in her typical Gothic style. Seeing her in this attire when playing the piano acoustically adds to the dramatics of the show.

The entire concert is well-done but of course the groups signature tracks of “Bring Me To Life”, “My Immortal”, and “Going Under” will be the fan favorites. I also enjoyed “Tourniquet” and “Missing” quite a bit. I felt it was a bit better than I had expected, since not all of the bands one hears on the radio sound very good live. Evanescence has proven that they can hold their own onstage. I do wish for the future that less of the tape loops are used, as there are a couple of pieces where you hear Amy singing and the recorded voice is not her doing it at that same second. There is not much of a booklet inside and only one band photo. That could have been done a little better.

As is becoming more and more common, the band has added their videos to this portion of the release as well. On the DVD you will find the video for “My Immortal”, “Everybody’s Fool”, “Bring Me To Life” and “Going Under”. Personally I like when the bands do this, as it saves you from hunting the music channels for the videos, or downloading them.

Given the demise of Creed, Evanescence holds the record labels banner on high and stands to replace them as their key moneymaker. Whether they will hold on to this is anyone’s guess. Their second studio CD will need to expand upon the successful themes of their first record and also provide a level of hits that Creed was able to deliver on most occasions. This DVD/CD package is a good pick for any fan of the band, or someone who would like to watch a good concert shoot.

Rating: 8/10

Evanescence Homepage:

--Ken 12.14.04

Anywhere But Home
Wind-Up Records
Ken Pierce12/13/2004
Wind-Up Records
Ken Pierce6/10/2004
Wind-Up Records
Frank Hill5/23/2004


<< back >>