Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Planetary Confinement
The End
1/12/2006 - Review by: Jason Murray
Experience the brevity and darker subtlties of existence
Antimatter - Planetary Confinement - 2005 - The End

Track Listing
01 planetary confinement
02 the weight of the world
03 line of fire
04 epitaph
05 mr. white (Trouble cover)
06 a portrait of the young man as an artist
07 relapse
08 legions
09 eternity part 24
It takes some restraint on my behalf to keep from gushing praise for this album so I will do my best to be objective. The starkness of the compositions on this release are a prominent feature throughout most of this album and anyone with a serious bout of depression take heed-stay away. For the rest of us, this is a thouroughly relaxing set of ambient, acoustic filled songs. While some bands seem to hide behind their gear, exchanging talent at composition for overblown effects, Antimatter lay their souls bare. Each piece is stark and stripped down with the music doing all the work. Expect acoustic driven songs on each track that do not go over the top but rather take you close to the bottom. These tracks are meant to slow down the pace of your life and give you a clearer picture of what it is like to truly experience the brevity and darker subtlties of existence.

The tracks on this album are fairly evenly split between the immeasurable talents of Duncan Patterson and Mick Moss. Each brings a unique slant to the music that is presented and overall the album is strengthened from the synergistic blend of these two talented individuals. This album was recorded in three separate locations, in England, France, and Ireland but the cohesiveness does not suffer in the least. To me, the entire spectrum of human emotion has much to teach us and Antimatter are here to present us with a study in the sadder side of things as well as a good dose of empathy. This album is perfect for those times when you long for the bittersweet memories of times past and those remembered. I believe that the role of music is to make us feel, not necessarily happiness, but true emotion, and that is one accomplishment that Antimatter can be proud

As a post script, it seems that Duncan Patterson has left Antimatter in the capable hands of Mick Moss for now. I'm sure that the vision of Antimatter will no doubt grow and evolve in new directions as my own musical
tastes continue to do. Can't wait for album number four!

--Jason Murray 01.12.06

Planetary Confinement
The End
Jason Murray1/12/2006


<< back >>