Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Angtoria Demo
4/7/2005 - Review by: Edwin
Very melodic metal with touches of Gothic and a slightly prog
Angtoria - Demo - 2004

Track Listing
1. Six Feet Under’s Not Deep Enough
2. Confide In Me
3. Suicide On My Mind
4. Deity Of disgust
5. A Child That Walks The Path Of A Man
And again a surprise drops on the doormat of yours truly…..

ANGTORIA ‘s demo CD; A 5 track CD, packed with melodic metal all built around the crystal clear voice of Sarah Jezebel Deva, who has been performing with Cradle of Filth, Therion, Covenant and Mortiis. And I hear you think; is this what to expect?

Well, not at all! The music of Angtoria is very melodic metal with touches of Gothic and a slightly progressive undertone. It’s a thrill and all sounds very fresh!

Angtoria is completed by the Rehn brothers, Chris (Abyssos) and Tommy (Moahni Moahna). They have succeeded in their task to stand out and not get captured in the traps of modern day music. They went around the obvious and created a truly unique sound on which Sarah can showcase her excellent voice. Guitars are tuned in fine harmony with the massive wall of keyboards, and drums and bass provide a heavy and solid foundation. I still haven’t figured out exactly what makes Angtoria stand out and differs so much with the already settled acts, but they simply have that ‘magic’ attached to them. Remember when you first heard Queensrÿche? It reminds me of a pompous version of Nightwish, with a much wider voice, like Floor Jansen of After Forever…. Without labelling them which would not do justice to this band!

Opening “Six feet under’s not deep enough” sets the tone and is a driven heavy track with piano’s in the back, giving it the extra depth. A bridge and chorus that click instantly. The following is a cover version of “Confide in me” which is brought vividly to life. Barging in with keys and guitars in close harmony. They truly made it happen and added a lot of fuel to the fire. Never actually thought I would ever like this song, but Angtoria proves me wrong on all counts! “Suicide on my mind” is a moody melodic rocker. Slowly unfolding towards the end, and it has (again) a very recognisable bridge and chorus. It all paves the road for a true masterpiece; “Deity of disgust”. A heavy track with a lot of progressive and modern touches to it, heavily orchestrated by keys in the most magnificent pompous Nightwish tradition. But where the Finish Gothic act tends to fall into repeating themselves over and over, Angtoria twists and bends into a pure melodic metal form. When I played it to a friend, he mentioned Nightwish blended with House of Lords and Dio! Not knowing how close he was to breaking it down to the very being of it! The chorus is marvellous and indeed reminds us of Dio in duet with Tori Amos and Kate Bush on acid! “A Child that walks in the path of the man” wraps up this five track. A moody and warm track again with a spotlight on the wide range and crystal clear voice of Sarah Jezebel Deva.

The production by Chris Rehn is crystal clear and very transparent. The instrumentation and orchestration is excellent as is the craftsmanship. This demo will surely result in a record deal, it has to!

The CD demo was voted ‘demo of the month’ by Germany’s leading metal magazine Metal Hammer and in my list is scoring at least a 90 out of 100. They lose then top perfection, because it only has 5 tracks, that’s all!

Make sure to visit for the latest info on this remarkable band.

--Edwin van Hoof 04.01.05

Angtoria Demo


<< back >>