Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Metalian Attack Pt. I: 1999-2001
Crash Music
6/25/2004 - Review by: Ken Pierce
Metalium “Metalian Attack Pt. I: 1999-2001” Crash Music 2002
Reviewed by: Ken Pierce

Track Listing
1. Fight
2. Break The Spell
3. Smoke On The Water
4. Dream Of Doom
5. Metalium
6. Years Of Darion
7. Steel Avenger
8. Free Forever
9. Dust In The Wind

1. Circle Of Fate
2. Fight
3. Years Of Darion
4. Metalium
5. Prophecy
6. Free Forever
7. Dust In The Wind
I actually heard about Metalium from a Savatage message board. It seemed that one of the members would soon be joining Savatage (Jack Frost) in 2000. While Chris Caffery of Savatage had already done the first CD and done some touring with them, “Millennium Metal: Chapter One” is this CD. Most of the songs on the DVD are from this CD. The footage on this piece is a little disjointed in its cinematography you can see Jack as well as Chris in a number or two. There are many fast pans and shots from different shows to make it look more interesting, yet, I did find that a little tricky to follow since I was trying to see who was playing when.

Members of most of the group consist mainly of Lars Ratz (bass), Matthias Lange (guitar), Henning Basse (vocals), Mark Cross (Drums), Chris Caffery (guitar), Jack Frost (guitar). There are some other players as well. Lars serves as the footage commentator for the piece which makes it interesting to me since he is the founder of the group. It comes across as more realistic since he is part of this, and not just some commentator. There is a lot of road footage and tour bus kidding around. A personal favorite of mine was when Chris Caffery was showing the group New York City. As a resident for many years, it adds to the cool factor for me.

Despite one or two minor gripes this is a good piece. The songs that Metalium had were catchy and most certainly heavy, however, the songs are not shown in their entirety for the most part and that makes for a loss of points in my book. I feel if the footage is there, why not show the entire tune. People buy live DVDs to see the whole song. It gains high marks for having an included live CD in the package. The songs on this are listed for your review.

I did enjoy the DVD and can say that power metal fans will enjoy it. More so, I think it is for the Metalium fanatic who must have everything that the band releases. A casual fan might be put off by its inconsistency. If you are a fan of rock documentary this serves as a good example of a band that began as a project with one or two songs and became a solid touring metal force.

Rating: 6/10

The Metalium Homepage:

--Ken Pierce 06.25.04

Demons Of Insanity: Ch5
Eric Compton4/23/2005
Metalian Attack Pt. I: 1999-2001
Crash Music
Ken Pierce6/25/2004
Nothing To Undo: Chapter Six
Crash Music
Eric Compton5/7/2007


<< back >>