Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Dante XXI
3/31/2006 - Review by: Eric Compton
Sepultura - Dante XXI - 2006 - SPV

Track Listing
1. Intro #4
2. Dark Wood Of Error
3. Convicted In Life
4. City Of Dis
5. False
6.Fighting On
7. Intro #2
8. Ostia
9. Buried Words
10. Nuclear Seven
11. Repeating The Horror
12. Intro #1
13. Crown And Miter
14. Intro #3
15. Still Flame
The Brazilian thrashers reroute their journey back to past glories with new effort and a renewed purpose. Indeed "Dante XXI", the new Sepultura record, is a high quality, highly entertaining metal record that showcases that older "tribal" sound with an impressive songwriting display. For the band's tenth album to date they revisit an old tale, Dante's "Divine Comedy". Musically the band explore all aspects of the classic, including Paradise, Purgatory, and Inferno. It is interesting to see another band tackle this intricate and detailed vision of Hell, and with this particular selection of songs the band really do it justice given their seasoned ability and veteran songwriting skills.

Everything I have loved about this band circa "Chaos A.D." is back on display here. I was a bit turned off by albums like "Against", "Nation", and even "Roor Back" to an extent, really preferring Cavalera's character and vocal delivery more than current singer Derrick Green. However with this new album I think Green puts in his best performance, really coming into his own with a harsh, more spoken voice that seems to vibrate and move through thunderous passages and blistering fast riffing. Green's obvious highlight here is the dark and moody mid-tempo cut "Nuclear Sevens", complete with a massive groove throughout backing Green's raspy, spoken delivery. The tribal effects are in full effect as well, really moving and enhancing ripping fast guitar chops and insuring each track has its own ritual. "Dark Woods Of Error" and "City Of Dis" showcase that well used tribal vibe, enhanced by quick double bass stomps from master skinsman Igor Cavalera and titanic grooves courtesy of Andreas Kisser. One can only brace for deep impact on the earthquake grooves of "Fighting On" and the classic Sepultura sound of "Buried Words". It is interesting to see all of the other elements in place here, with my favorite "non-metal" part simply being the use of a chello on "Ostia" and of course the FOUR intros provided here, each recognizing the other with different aspects and emotions. My favorite cut here is "Convicted In Life", a slapping ball buster that storms through Green's energetic mic use and a flashy, high flying lead from Kisser.

Bottom Line - Easily the best Sepultura record since "Chaos A.D.". If you have been holding out on that ONE Sepultura record to bring you back into the racket, please pick this one. It is a simple equation really....Dante XXI + 2006 = Fists Held High! This is certainly a respectable and engaging record that introduces us to the Sepultura of old while still introducing new elements and styles. Highly recommended!

--EC 3.20.06

Dante XXI
Eric Compton3/31/2006
Machine Messiah
Nuclear Blast
David Loveless2/2/2017

Andreas KissnerT. Ray Verteramo5/29/2015"30 Years and Conquering"

<< back >>