Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Shadows Fall
War Within
Century Media
9/27/2004 - Review by: Greg Watson
Shadows Fall - War Within - Century Media Records - 2004 - Reviewed by Chaoslord

Track Listing
1. The Light That Blinds
2. Enlightened By The Cold
3. Act Of Contrition
4. What Drives The Weak
5. Stillness
6. Inspiration On Demand
7. The Power Of I and I
8. Ghosts Of Past Failures
9. Eternity Is Within
10. Those Who Cannot Speak
Alright, I am sure everyone knows this band by now, right? Well if you don't apparently you slept through all of last year and are waking up from a good sleep right about now. If you haven't checked this band out I just want to ask you "What the hell is wrong with you?" This band has evolved so much from their first album and still prove that you can change as a band without foregoing what you are good at. That being said, I am quite pleased with Shadows Fall's latest effort. A lot of people that I talked with before the album came out were skeptical because some of the songs they heard had vocalist Brian Fair using clean vocals over clean guitars--so what?!?!?!? They did a great cover of Pink Floyd's "Welcome to the Machine", that appeared on the album "The Art of Balance", and Fair did nothing but use clean vocals on that song, so let the band grow and do something they feel like experimenting with. There are some songs with clean vocals and guitars in them, but don't let it influence you away from buying the album based on that. These guys are quickly honing their thrash chops and the rest of the songs on the CD showcase that easily. For a young band they have an old thrash feel about them all around, especially after their last album came out. Couple that with the fact that these guys tour relentlessly and you have a band that deserves every ounce of respect that it gets. They work hard at what they do and are damn good at it. Man, this turned into a speech instead of a review, sorry bout that. The album is chock full of nasty, thrash infested riffs, heavy yet clever drum work, thoughtful and provoking lyrics and many memorable songs. This quintet has further proven themselves to the metal world with this album. Songs like "The Light That Blinds", "What Drives the Weak", "Inspiration On Demand" and "Those Who Cannot Speak" will crush all those whining little babies with no remorse whatsoever. This album has shot Shadows Fall to the front of the metal scene as far as the new bands are concerned. While it can't touch the older metal stuff, it will definitely be mentioned in the same breath as those old classics. You need to go and buy this album and see just what it is Shadows Fall is capable of. You will not regret it.

--Chaoslord 09.27.04

Fallout From The War
Century Media
Eric Compton5/16/2006
War Within
Century Media
Greg Watson9/27/2004


<< back >>