Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Sinners Intuition
Crash Music
3/15/2006 - Review by: Eric Compton
Enforsaken - Sinners Intuition - 2006 - Crash Music

Track Listing1. Witness To The Fall
2. Blacklist Assassin
3. The Slain
4. Halo Of Ruin
5. Enemy Angel
6. Severe The Ties
7. Words In Red
8. The Course To Oblivion
It looks as though Crash Music is on a really good upswing right now, delivering quality goods like Flotsam & Jetsam, Seven Witches, Relentless, and Embraze just in the last few months. Now the label has picked up Enforsaken, a high octane metal affair that is strongly influenced by Swedish death metal sensations. The group have released their third album to date entitled "Sinners Intuition", the group's first for Crash Music and what I would consider the first real melodic death release of the year thus far.

The band was formed in 1998 and released their first album, "Embraced By Misery", in December of 2000. After playing live shows with the likes of Lamb Of God, Vader, Shadows Fall, and Malevolent Creation the group signed to Century Media owned Olympic Records. In 2004 Enforsaken's sophomore effort, "The Forever Endeavor", was released to critical praise and high marks. Now the band have signed a multi album deal with Crash Music and "Sinners Intuiution" kicks off that deal in grand style.

In all honesty this is probably one of the better aggressive bands I've heard, but don't get fooled by the aggressive nature of the record. Deep within these pounding grooves and blasting drums is a heart of melody, a real purpose to combine epic guitar passages and leads within a constant firestorm of blistering fast paced metal. In many ways Enforsaken recalls the best moments of Swedish death acts like At The Gates, Entombed, Dismember, and even Arch Enemy, but still showcases a strong sense of modern US stylings. Within this catacomb of madness lies an experimental side, always allowing other influences and elements to come through at the most unsuspecting time.

"Sinners Intuition" really shines through with a blazing authority, laying down thunderous guitar riffs that are either bordering on Slayer speed or producing a stomp effect like Lamb Of God. With cuts like "Witness To The Fall" and "Enemy Angel" the band shows off blast beats, fast attacking riffs, and bombastic groove parts. The guitarists here even show off a flashy side by building melodic leads and purpose into this factory setting. I can't describe to you just how tight this band is, really just crushing and ominous in their vision and creativity. I really like the atmospheric parts with the clean vocals, evident on "Enemy Angel". Highlights for me are "Words In Red", "Blacklist Assassin", and "Halo Of Ruin".

--EC 03.08.06

Sinners Intuition
Crash Music
Eric Compton3/15/2006


<< back >>