Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
The Phantom Agony
Transmission Records
Hard Rock
6/9/2004 - Review by: Ken Pierce
Epica - The Phantom Agony - 2004 Reviewed by: Ken Pierce

Track Listing
1. Adyta
2. Sensorium
3. Cry For The Moon
4. Feint
5. Alusive Consensus
6. Façade Of Reality
7. Run For A Fall
8. Seif Al Din
9. The Phantom Agony
For many years the Heavy Metal world was missing the presence of talented women vocalists. Of course, we had the wonderful Doro Pesch and Lita Ford but others were clearly few and far between. However, the past several years have seen this void filled to a very satisfying capacity. We can now count on the existence of bands that are fronted by these amazing singers who add both beauty and grace to music as powerful and complex as their voices. Joining the ranks of Tarja Turunen (Nightwish) & Floor Jansen (After Forever) is Simone Simons of Epica.

Epica (formerly called Sahara Dust) have just released their debut effort entitled “The Phantom Agony” on Transmission Records. This CD is a very well crafted piece. As I listened to the CD, I was reminded of the singer named Annie Haslam who performed for the art/progressive band Renaissance back in the mid 70's. Of course I fear that I am dating myself with a reference such as this but the voices were very similar. When I brought it up with Simone of the band she told me that she had never heard of her before. Of course, Simone is only 18 years old. Yes, I said 18 and she sings like I have not heard in some time. She is also a very beautiful girl, so make sure to check out the pics on the site.

Of the 8 tracks on the there are a few who stick out as my favorites most immediately. They are “Sensorium”, “Facade of Reality”, and “Seif al Din”. The number of tunes is by no means a reflection on the CDs length as the piece runs a little over 50 minutes. Not bad for a debut. The music is deftly performed by the group who combine haunting operatic chorals and spectacular metal skills. As a drummer I always listen to the drums, and really enjoyed the work by Jeroen Simons. He holds it together quite well. In addition to Simone’s high pitched Arias there is the male vocal by Mark Jansen. He uses the growls so prevalent in a lot of Black Metal. At the same time he is providing some serious guitar shredding. After Forever fans might miss his playing, but I think they will enjoy his new band quite a bit. Epica, by the labels title of them is considered Epic Gothic Metal, yet it is not as gloomy as some Goth pieces I have heard. The opening sequence “Adyta” gives the feel of some religious service or foreboding chant as it begins with a very dramatic choir piece.

Packaging wise, the CD comes with a fully detailed booklet, lyrics and photos and some great artwork imagery. Like other releases, this comes in a limited-edition Ecobook version, but I did not have this for review purposes. I enjoy extensive liner notes and lyrics, especially in these high priced music retail markets and the listener should get the most for their money. As I described in my After Forever review, the fans of Nightwish will be able to enjoy this group since the music is similar enough to be appreciated by them, however it is different enough to be enjoyed as a totally separate entity. It is a group that I hope tours in the United States for I think they will be a welcome change.

Epica is:
Simone Simons – Mezzo - Soprano
Mark Jansen – Guitars, Grunts, and Screams
Ad Sluijter – Guitars
Geon Janssen – Synths & Piano
Yves Huts – Bass
Jeroen Simons – Drums and Percussion

There are also some considerable Orchestrations as the band employs Violins, Cellos and Violas on the CD. There is also an Epica choir. The list of contributors on that end was too vast for me to provide, so please refer to the band site.

Rating: 8.5

--Vinaya 06.08.04

Consign To Oblivion
The End
Ken Pierce1/16/2006
Epica vs Attack on Titan Songs
Nuclear Blast
Greg Watson9/27/2018
Requiem for the Indifferent
Nuclear Blast
Greg Watson3/28/2012
The Divine Conspiracy
Nuclear Blast
Vinaya Saksena11/7/2008
The Holographic Principle
Nuclear Blast
Greg Watson11/1/2016
The Phantom Agony
Transmission Records
Ken Pierce6/9/2004
We Will Take You With Us
The End
Ken Pierce1/2/2006
We Will Take You With Us
The End


<< back >>