Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Service Repair Handbook
Crucial Blast
9/8/2006 - Review by: Anthony Burke
Suzukiton – Service Repair Handbook – 2005 – Crucial Blast Records

Track Listing
1. Arithmatits
2. Meatal
3. Rogue Mechanica
5. New Blood
6. R & T
7. Shit Trigger
8. Aquachimp
9. Chugga
10. Todd Song
11. RVA
12. Melon
13. Slow Song
I never turn down a review, and Suzukiton would be no different. Before I pop the disc in the disc player there a few things that works in their favor. First, the name which has Suzuki in it, and the the cover has a motorcycle on it, which is a passion. The CD title is “Service Repair Handbook”. I’ve read a few of those in my time, and engines are relaxing. Lastly, they are from my home state of Virginia, about five hours away.

Suzukiton have evolved three times since 1996. The original band consisted of Silver P. (Guitar), Bill Rose (Bass), and Todd W. (Drums) until 1997, which also saw the addition of Jon Ramsey on another guitar. The second evolution came in 2000 and lasted until 2004. This era consisted of Todd Naumann (Guitar), Jon Ramsey (Guitar), Bill Rose (Bass), and Bryan Cox (Drums), this was also the lineup that recorded “Service Repair Handbook” in 2002. Crucial Blast picked up the record and distributed it. The third evolution happened in 2005; today’s band has Todd Naumann (Guitar), David Boyd (Guitar), Bill Rose (Bass), and Ben Tufts (Drums).

The opening of this album sounded promising as well as heavy riffing. Even though it got a bit grove happy at times, all in all, not a bad way to start this new record. Then “Meatel” hits and what was thought of as a new door quickly closes. Now, just imagine twelve more songs that sound like something out of a bad horror movie. It basically sounds like four guys that are doing whatever the hell they want. If it were one song, at least it may have some substance, but as it stands, it simply sounds like a bad audition for a punk rock band.

Wow, now I know that this instrumental (Math Metal) stuff is not for me. I have heard some albums that have a few songs that could be lumped into one song. But many thanks go to Suzukiton for having a first, thirteen short songs (most around the 2 minute mark) that should be one song. My advice to the group is, just give up on the instrumental music and just seek out a singer to break the monotony. For fans of the instrumental metal, this may be the answer to your prayers. Even fans of stoner rock might find something worthy in this, but for me it started strong but quickly faded in to the dark.

Rating: 2/10.

--IcedMojo 8.19.06


Service Repair Handbook
Crucial Blast
Anthony Burke9/8/2006


<< back >>