Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Southern Lord
3/10/2004 - Review by: Eric Compton
Probot - ST 2004 Southern Lord Records reviewed by: EC

Track Listing
1. Centuries Of Sin - (with Cronos)
2. Red War - (with Max Cavalera)
3. Shake Your Blood - (with Lemmy)
4. Access Babylon - (with Mike Dean)
5. Silent Spring - (with Kurt Brecht)
6. Ice Cold Man - (with Lee Dorrian)
7. Emerald Law, The - (with Wino)
8. Big Sky - (with Tom G. Warrior)
9. Dictatorsaurus - (with Snake)
10. My Tortured Soul - (with Eric Wagner)
11. Sweet Dreams - (with King Diamond)
Hidden Track - (with Jack Black)
I've never been a fan of Dave Grohl. His idea of rock and roll is as interesting to me as watching a feline eat its own feces. I've hated Nirvana for years, looking at the silly "hippy-like" movement of Kurt Cobain and company as a simple, no talent, gimme-gimme haven of spoiled rich kids begging for one more big-toy. The Foo-Fighters in my opinion are the little rock band that tried, gearing up and setting the stage to rock out, instead barely puffing up enough speed to get by the garage door. Dave Grohl's drumming never really impressed me, simply because I've never seen the guy really go at it, instead sticking to the fisher-price sounds of grunge up until this point.

Probot, the metal version of Mr. Grohl, is a side project featuring a who's-who of metal superstars ranging from Lemmy to King Diamond, all wrapped up in a nice little package of Grohl playing every instrument while his "metal god" sings along. Fairly interesting idea, and it kind of makes me stop and think; If Dave Grohl is such a HUGE metal fan, why the hell doesn't he play metal in his previous/current bands!?! I guess that sort of thing just goes hand in hand with guys like Sum 41, who claim they are the ultimate Iron Maiden wannabe's. Confused? So am I.

This all-star metal tribute is what it is. Dave Grohl getting the chance to shine beside his idols and music heroes. The really neat thing about this parade is the fact that Grohl does a great job creating the musical style that his "metal guest" specializes in. For instance, "Ice Cream Man", featuring Cathedral frontman Lee Dorian, is a bone-rattling slow pacer in the vein of Sabbath/Cathedral, conjuring up a doom-driven machine with Grohl in complete command of all instruments. The same can be said for "Sweet Dreams", a wonderful walk through N.W.O.B.H.M gardens, with King Diamond at the helm soothing the listener with his evil, sadistic lullaby. "Centuries Of Sin" is total Venom worship, sounding like something from the last Venom record, "Resurrection", with Cronos making it a devilish good-time. My favorite cuts here are the Lemmy driven backwash that is "Shake Your Blood", reminding me of an early Motorhead model, with Grohl adding that extra spark of gasoline soaked blues and the grinding, doom monster "My Tortured Soul" with Trouble's Eric Wagner on the mike.

Other dishes served here are "Red War" with Sepultura/Soulfly vocalist Max Cavalera, "Access Babylon" with C.O.C's Mike Dean, "Silent Spring" featuring D.R.I thrasher Kurt Brecht, "The Emerald Law" with Obsessed vocalist/guitarist Wino, "Big Sky" with Celtic Frost singer Tom G. Warrior, and "Dictatosaurus" with Voivod's own Snake. There is an added "hidden" track as well with Tenacious D singer Jack Black.

Every track on Probot is a calculated, well-thoughtout tribute to Dave Grohl's music idols. Hopefully this won't be a one-shot deal, with the Lemmy song here already making the rounds on radio and television. Lets hope Probot will become a well-oiled, often used machine that continues the metal trek into the future. This stuff is fun!

--EC 03.10.04

Southern Lord
Eric Compton3/10/2004


<< back >>