Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Pure Inc
Pure Inc
Hard Rock
5/4/2005 - Review by: Susan Wright
Pure Inc. - ST - 2004 - AFM Records

Track Listing
1 Fear my Eyes
2 Genius
3 Piece of Mind
4 On the Verge
5 Next to you
6 Promise You
7 T.O.T
8 Black Tea
9 Believin
10 Falling Season
This is really an unusual release for AFM Records. The German label has made quite a living off of the power metal genre, occasionally slipping into progressive regions and exploring a decent amount of thrash mayhem. Pure Inc. really isn't comparable to other artists on the roster, in fact I would really have to say that this band doesn't quite fit that particular label. There certainly is a first time for everything so we may see more and more of these types of bands pop up on AFM in the future. So that brings me to my next portion of the review, describing this unusual AFM release.

For the most part Pure Inc. is going to cater to the AOR and hard rock crowd, those hungry 80s leftovers that so many fans, including myself, save up their money for. I'm the first to sign up for releases from the likes of Victory, Pretty Maids, and even Dokken. Pure Inc. doesn't quite have that 80s sound though, really taking into account all of the 90s stylings of hard rock. With this self-titled debut this Swiss band examines all aspects of melodic rock, capturing the feelings of modern music but at the same time exploring as far back as the early 90s for influence. You won't hear driving rhythm, those huge riffs made famous by Vandenburg and George Lynch, instead this group sort of just lays back a bit, really coming to the forefront with heaviness and melody in slow strides. That isn't necessarily a bad thing, but at times I wish the band focused more on heavy groove moreso than atmosphere and mood.

I guess if I was to describe this particular outfit it would be sort of like Alter Bridge crossed with TNA or even Winger circa "Pull". The band incorporate plenty of 90s styled riffing into their hard rock getup, really playing out each song with some slow tempo songs that could be reminiscent of Three Doors Down or even Creed. But unlike those bands, Pure Inc. refuses to gloat in those sorrowful tales. They choose to mix it up some with some powerful, more melodic displays of hard rock. When the band gets going they could be similar to the likes of Biss, Shakra, or even Evidence One. The band seems to be comfortable just mixing the two styles together. Favorite cuts for me are the more up-tempo flavors like "T.D.T", "On The Verge", and "Fear My Eyes". Overall a strong debut from a band that will slowly find some cash in my wallet.

--EC 5.5.05


Pure Inc
Susan Wright5/4/2005


<< back >>