Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Internal Bleeding
Onward To Mecca
Olympic Recordings
11/12/2004 - Review by: David Loveless
Internal Bleeding - "Onward To Mecca" 2004 Olympic Recordings reviewed by: Grim Gaijin

Track Listing
1) Bleed By Example
2) Siege In The Clouds
3) Infidel
4) Far Above You
5) Hatefuel
6) Arm Our Youth
7) This Day I Fight
8) Contamination
I must admit that I was a little apprehensive to listening and reviewing the new Internal Bleeding offering, "Onward To Mecca". After all, Internal Bleeding assisted in creating the New York deathcore scene back in 1995 with the release of the relentless "Voracious Contempt" CD. The grotesque throat noise of Frank Rini and the maliciously creative fret work of Chris Perveus paved the way for a new brutal sound that still stands intact today.

The first dent in the road for me was 1999's Driven to Conquer. Although a stellar release (their 3rd), I never got use to the more hardcore style vocals that Ray Lebron offered. A great metal singer and killer screams, but Frank was one of the best in the business. Now, after five years absence, Internal Bleeding return with a completely new lineup (except for longtime skinsman, Bill Tolley), and their sound is as brutal and intense as ever.

Even with the absence of Frank Rini and Chris Perveus, Internal Bleeding has stepped up to the next level with a powerful mix of New York style Death Metal and Hardcore. Bleed By Example, Infidel, Far Above You, & Contamination, are among the 9 tracks that stick out for me as being some of their most punishing tracks in years! Bill's delivers violent drumming as always, showing that ultra speed double-bass, blast beat precision and death metal is a match made in hell. The dual guitar work of Matt Ferrara and Frank Buffolino prove they can definitely hold their own against bands such as Dying Fetus and Deeds of Flesh with a whirlwind assault of crazed riffs and groove breakdowns that would spin up the deadliest moshpits around. Although Jerry Lowe is no Frank Rini, he delivers a vocal performance that could wake the dead and have them too scared to exit their rotting coffins.

The bottom line is that Internal Bleeding is back and once again that they are a force to be reckoned with. Whether you are a fan of brutal death metal or raging hardcore, Internal Bleeding has always, and will continue to satisfy for many years to come. I've also recently learned that original guitarist, Chris Perveus, is now back in the band, so expect an all out assault as they tear shit up in its path....Onward To Mecca!!

--Grim Gaijin 11.12.04

Onward To Mecca
Olympic Recordings
David Loveless11/12/2004


<< back >>