Maximum Metal Rating Legend
5 Excellent - Masterpiece. A classic.
4.5-4 Great - Almost perfect records but there's probably a lacking.
3.5 Good - Most of the record is good, but there may be some filler.
3 Average - Some good songs, some bad ones at about a half/half ratio.
2.5-2 Fair - Worth a listen, but best obtained by collectors.
1.5-1 Bad - Major problems with music, lyrics, production, etc.
0 Terrible - Waste of your life and time.

Note: Reviews are graded from 0-5, anything higher or not showing is from our old style. Scores, however, do not reveal the important features. The written review that accompanies the ratings is the best source of information regarding the music on our site. Reviewing is opinionated, not a qualitative science, so scores are personal to the reviewer and could reflect anything from being technically brilliant to gloriously cheesy fun.

Demos and independent releases get some slack since the bands are often spent broke supporting themselves and trying to improve. Major releases usually have big financial backing, so they may be judged by a heavier hand. All scores can be eventually adjusted up or down by comparison of subsequent releases by the same band. We attempt to keep biases out of reviews and be advocates of the consumer without the undo influence of any band, label, management, promoter, etc.

The best way to determine how much you may like certain music is to listen to it yourself.
Long Live The Loud: That's Metal Lesson II
11/17/2005 - Review by: Eric Compton
Powergod - Long Live The Loud: That's Metal Lesson II - 2005 - Massacre Records

Track Listing
1. Fall Out/Long Live The Loud (Exciter)
2. Screams From The Grave (Abattoir)
3. Mind Over Metal (Raven)
4. Heavy Chains (Loudness)
5. Bombs Of Death (Hirax)
6. Rocking Through The Night (Rosy Vista)
7. I'd Rather Be Sleeping (D.R.I)
8. Ready To Rock (Wendy O. Williams)
9. Motormount (Anvil)
10. Better Off Dead (Hellion)
11. Deathrider (Omen)
12. Total Desaster (Destruction)
13. Cutt Your Heart Out (Rough Cutt)
14. The War Drags Ever On (Tank)
15. Heavy Chains (Bonus Alternate Version)
German's Powergod continue to revisit past glory, experiencing a tremendous amount of success with their first tribute album "Bleed For The Gods: That's Metal Lesson I". Keep in mind that Powergod has created some fantastic "original" albums as well, including their thrash masterpiece "Nemesis". But beyond the original material the band has always expressed a passion for paying tribute to long lost heroes. The band really goes against the grain by delivering cover tunes from bands that either had some success in their career or simply were nonexistent. With the group's first tribute album, material ranging from Savage Grace and Q5 to TNT and Chastain was covered. This time around it is a step in the same direction, dishing out metal goods from a lot of bands that just came and went, talented bands that put out great albums and great songs.

Opener "Long Live The Loud" is the perfect testament to the band's knowledge of past glory. While ripping out a sensational, balls to the wall gut wrencher from Exciter, it is perfectly clear where Powergod's heart lies; 80's classic metal, up your ass and in your face! From the Exciter classic comes "Screams From The Grave", a fantastic cut lifted from L.A.'s thrash metal scene, done up originally by Abattoir. New Wave Of British Heavy Metal is visited with Raven's "Mind Over Metal". Powergod gets some assistance with this cut from Raven vocalist John Gallagher. "Heavy Chains" follows in HEAVY fashion, easily one of the heaviest songs of Powergod's entire back catalogue. The Loudness tune gets some extra attention from guest vocalist Minoru Nihara, the original singer for the Jap band.

The Hirax number "Bombs Of Death" is done at high speed, really matching the intensity and fury of the original. The same can be said for the Omen classic "Deathrider" (which does sound like Running Wild for some reason). Hard rock gets a visit with Rough Cutt's "Eat Your Heart Out", complete with Rough Cutt guitarist Peter Fischer contributing to the cover. Favorite cuts for me is the classic Tank number "The War Drags Ever On" with guest vocals from Sodom frontman Tom Angelripper and the Canadian thrash assault of Anvil's "Motormount", complete with Anvil vocalist Lips laying down vocals with Powergod.

Beyond the fantastic music found on the disc comes a detailed and interesting read inside the lyric booklet. The band has each song covered with a short note as to why they picked the song and how much the material meant to them growing up or as an inspiration musically. In some cases you will find individual stories associated with the songs, from concert gigs or little known historical facts. Overall this is just an amazing release and one that will probably escort me from place to place for the next couple of years. This is a great reference tool and an enjoyable listen, the perfect combo for any metal fan out there.

Bottom Line - Buy Or Die! 100% Mandatory Metal!

--EC 11.14.05

Bleed For The Gods
Frank Hill6/11/2003
Long Live The Loud: That's Metal Lesson II
Eric Compton11/17/2005


<< back >>