Headbanger's Ball Tour 2016
9/2/2016 5:22:41 PM by Frank Hill

Wow, when was the last time you saw this logo?

MTV's "Headbangers Ball" aired its first episode on April 18, 1987. Since then the show has existed in some variation via networks or online programming. Its prime time was the 1987 through 1995 period when it routinely aired around midnight every Saturday night. The show's original hosts were Kevin Seal and Adam Curry before Riki Rachtman took over and added a popular personalized touch. Ultimately the show came to an end due to the rising commercial success of alternative and grunge rock. "Headbanger's Ball" was replaced by the subpar show Superrock, hosted by Julia Valet.

So, it is now with great shock and elation that we see a tour poster released showing the original "Headbanger's Ball" logo. This European tour is being offered by Continental Concerts in cooperation with MTV. The concept is to make this tour continue a series of events that not only showcases some of the best heavy metal bands, but also celebrates its diversity. The first tour features bands culled from metalcore, death, folk and power genres representing the US, Finland and Canada.

Read Eric Compton's column here: [Full Column Link]

<< back >>

· Demons and Wizards· Nightwish
· Sinner· The Great Deceiver
· White Skull· Stratovarius
· Cradle of Filth· Twisted Tower Dire
· Solace· Overkill
· Mark Boals· Usurper
· Dark Moor· Black Label Society
· Johnny Lokke· Pyn Siren
· Circle of Nero· Supervillain
· Inner Rage of Emotion· Curriculum Mortis
· Morbid Angel· Rage
· Victory· Stryper
· Eidolon· Halloween
· Defiled· Soil
· Killik· Funerus
· Scala Mercalli· Exodus
· Jag Panzer· Messiah's Kiss
· Edge Of Forever· Van Helsing’s Curse
· Highlord· Low Earth Orbit
· U.D.O.· Judas Priest
· Joe Stump· Joe Lynn Turner
· Mob Rules· Bonfire
· Skeletonwitch· After Forever
· Saxon· Division
· Jungle Rot· Internal Bleeding
· Six Feet Under· Acheron
· Overlorde· Made of Iron
· Napalm Death· Kinetic
· Emerald Sun· Divine Fire
· Entombed· Belef
· Hellfire· Samael
· Freedom Call· Derek Sherinian
· Swallow The Sun· System Of A Down
· Callenish Circle· Throes of Dawn
· Ivory Knight· Astarte
· Agents Of Man· Sothis
· Subterranean Masquerade· Sentenced
· Thor· Love Forsaken
· Scar Symmetry· Octavia Sperati
· Future is Tomorrow· Sun O)))
· Casus Belli· Barcode
· Third Degree· Paths Of Possession
· Phantom X· Thrones
· Even X· Spellbound
· Ram-Zet· Celebratum
· Dragonlord· Motorhead
· Nocturnal Rites· Machina
· Sodom· Brother Hawk
· Second Shadow· Katatonia
· Lair Of The Minotaur· Boris
· Cryptopsy· Silver Dirt
· The Smashup· Warrant (Amer)
· Elvenking· Imagika
· Candlemass· Stormcrow
· The Strongest Proof· Abysmal Dawn
· Michael Orlando· Fragments of Unbecoming
· Jotunspor· Smohalla
· Azure· War Within
· From the Grave· Mouth of the Architect
· Enochian Crescent· Rotting Christ
· Satyricon· Biolich
· Sathanas· Winger
· Darkness Eternal· Extium
· Deicide· Celtic Frost
· Urkraft· Warmachine
· With Passion· Battered
· Manticore· Zyklon
· White Willow· Chrome Division
· Textures· Five Finger Death Punch
· Hacride· Spit Like This
· Antigama· Warner Drive
· Retrospective· Wuthering Heights
· Lipstick Magazine· Kruger
· Faith And Fire· Echoes of Eternity
· Hell N' Diesel· Destynation
· Distorted· Pathology
· Glenn Hughes· Cockpit
· Jesus Martyr· Last Stone Cast
· Trinacria· Uriah Heep
· Eighteen Wheels Burning· Battleroar
· Sotajumala· Giant Squid
· Suffocation