Made in Japan--Gonin-Ish "Muge no Hito"
10/15/2012 2:30:07 PM by David L

Writing this Made In Japan column certainly brings back memories for me of all the weekly gigs I use to attend up in Tokyo about 10 years ago or so. One of my favorite live houses to go to was called Meguro Live House and Ive seen many excellent underground bands play there throughout the years. However, one band in particular that stands out in my memory is Gonin-Ish. Amongst the noise and brutal death metal bands in the underground Japanese metal scene, Gonin-Ish go against the grain with their brand of progressive death metal. With all of the bands trying their best to be brutal and fast as possible, Gonin-Ish adds the progressive metal/rock elements to their music creating an awesome blend of heaviness, melody, and epic song lengths.

Gonin-Ish (meaning basically, five people uniting to create music), are a 5-piece powerhouse that features Anoji Matsuoka the band rhythm guitarist and singer. She can wail away at clean vocals just as good as she deliver death metal style vokills. All the other band members are masters of their craft and their onslaught of talent must be seen live to be believed.

The song in the video below is one of my favorites by Gonin-Ish. It is called Muge no Hito and it comes from their 2008 sophomore album (available from Season of Mist). This 9 minute 25 second song starts with a Dream Theater-like intro and then kicks in to blasting progressive riff. The song is filled with many tempo changes as well as vocal changes from Anoji. I hope everyone enjoys this track and if so, check out the other videos they have available on YouTube.
\m/ --Grim

<< back >>

Cathedral Nightwish
Opeth Slipknot
Big Dumb Face Carpathian Forest
Mondo Generator Poisonblack
Perzonal War Grave Digger
Impellitteri Kataklysm
Kalibas Overkill
Majesty Vaginal Carnage
Lamb of God Ravage
Dark Moor Masterplan
Byfist Nicta
Supervillain Catch 22
Evanesce Guardians Of Time
Windseeker Halloween
Fraise Body Count
Fairyland Three Inches of Blood
Silver Mountain Gothic Knights
Deep Purple Wolf
Velvet Revolver Marillion
Iron Angel Schenker/ Pattison Summit
Krokus Mob Rules
Lilitu After Forever
Psychotron Shadows Fall
Wintersun Occult
Tearabyte Division
Megadeth I.C.E.
Polterchrist Valume Nob
House of Shakira Neurosis
GWAR Conquestador
Silent Force Anger
Tsjuder Twisted Sister
Napalm Death Feared Creation
Scenteria Cradle To Grave
Emerald Sun Ligeia
The Apocalyptic Riders Blood Red Throne
Astral Doors Hellfire
Icarus Witch Nevermore
Kaamos Oathean
Omegalord Bruce Dickinson
Drunkard Axel Rudi Pell
Fire Alley Kryoburn
Operatika Thunderblast
Raintime Fastkill
Babylon Slumber
Pro-Pain Communic
Testament Dynamic Lights
Slik Helvetika Monolithe
Alice Cooper Thor
Widow Love Forsaken
Wetwork Impaled Nazarene
Blitzkrieg A Lower Deep
The Scourger Warchild
Redemption The Atomic Bitchwax
Orphaned Land Monster Magnet
Violent Storm The Firstborn
Arthemis Even X
Detonation Motorhead
Vader Grimfist
End My Sorrow Powerglove
Cannibal Corpse Event Horizon
Vore Ampast
Dream Or Nightmare Bludgeon
Dreams of Damnation Stormcrow
TK-421 Dawn of Azazel
Fragments of Unbecoming Sahg
Scary Manilow Time Requiem
Ynis Vitrin Vicious Rumors
Abominant The Finals
Semargl Isis
Escape The Fate Demise
Starkweather Better Left Unsaid
Blood Tsunami Hardcore Superstar
Southern Gentleman With Passion
Battered Omnium Gatherum
Terry Sullivan Static-X
Manticore Necrophobic
Madking Ludwig Cruachan
Blood of the Black Owl Pentacle
Retrospective Malevolent Creation
Heresi Night Ranger
Trivium Burzum
Hacksaw Surgery The Lamp of Thoth
Kiuas UFOmammut
Ihsahn Raven